Telšiai district municipality

  Administrative centre – Telšiai
  Area – 1439 km² (33.1 % of the county’s area)
  Population – 54 745 (31.6 % of the county’s population)
  Wards – Degaičiai, Gadūnavas, Luokė, Nevarėnai, Ryškėnai, Telšiai town,   Tryškiai, Upyna, Varniai, Viešvėnai, Žarėnai


Telšiai district municipality is located in the northwest of Lithuania in the Vidurio (Central) Žemaitija Upland. A smaller part of the municipality is situated in the Venta Lowland. The territory of the municipality is crossed by the Virvyčia River with tributaries the Rešketa, Upyna, Patekla, Gervainys. There are 47 lakes (Mastis, Lūkstas, Germantas, Biržulis and others) and 6 ponds (the largest – that of Ubiškės). In the forests of Pagermantis, Tryškiai, Biržuvėnai, Parešketis and others, firs and pines are prevalent; there are also mixed forests. Agricultural land makes up 52.3 %, forests – 31.4 %, roads – 2 %, built-up area – 2.2 %, water bodies – 3.7 %, other land – 8.5 % of the municipality.

There are two towns (Telšiai and Varniai) and eleven townships (Eigirdžiai, Gadūnava, Janapolė, Lauko Soda, Luokė, Nerimdaičiai, Nevarėnai, Pavandenė, Tryškiai, Ubiškė and Žarėnai).

The centre of the district municipality – Telšiai, the capital of Žemaitija region, county and bishopric centre. The town, built on seven hills, is located near the beautiful Mastis Lake. In historical sources, Telšiai was for the first time mentioned in 1450. In 1536, Telšiai was a centre of an uprising of peasants of Žemaitija region. At the end of the 17th century, Telšiai became a cultural and political centre of the Samogitians (žemaičiai). In Telšiai, regional assemblies (seimeliai) of the noblemen were convened; there was a court. In 1721, Augustas (Augustus) II allowed organising markets in Telšiai. In 1791 m. Stanislovas Augustas (Stanisław II August Poniatowski) restored and approved Magdeburg rights. In 1863, Telšiai was one of the centres of the uprising in Žemaitija. In 1873–1940, one of the most famous rabbi schools in the world – Ješiva – was functioning in the town. In the years of the independence, Telšiai grew to form the most well-known Samogitian cultural and educational centre.

Telšiai district municipality is located at a convenient crossing of roads (the town is crossed by roads to Šiauliai and Klaipėda, Kaliningrad Region and Latvia, a railway to Šiauliai and Klaipėda). Light, wood processing and food industry, as well as the service sector are developed.

Currently, Telšiai is an important industrial and cultural centre of the county and Lithuania, which may be proud of its old town (one of the seven protected old towns in Lithuania), abundance of places and unique objects, which are really worth visiting: the cathedral of St. Anthony of Padua with two central altars. Tourists are also attracted by the Šatrija and Girgždūtė landscape historical, Germantas, Minija, Žąsūgalas landscape reserves, Varniai Regional Park, Šatrija, Girgždūtė, Džiuginėnai and other castle mounds, manor ensembles and parks; Tryškiai township is considered to be a monument to urban development.

The Samogitian Museum Alka, which stores one of the largest and richest collections of   archive heritage of old Žemaitija manors in the Lithuanian province, actively engages in cultural, scientific, and educational activities. Telšiai may also boast the Žemaitė Drama Theatre, which is one of the oldest theatres in Lithuania, and whose history goes back to almost 100 years; it is known as an amateur theatre which won the highest number of nominations, and is well-known not only in Lithuania, but also abroad.


Useful links
Telšiai district municipality
Telšiai county tourism information centre
Internet portal Samogitia (Žemaitija)